Fathers and Sons

Coincidence has always played an important role in my life.  I’m one of those folks who believes we receive guidance from somewhere beyond our limited mortal perspective, and along with Chinese fortune cookies, the greatest source of guidance in my life is usually coincidence.

Something happens once…so? Let it happen again in a reasonably short time, and I’ll say, “Hmmm, that’s interesting.” A third time? That’s when I say “Whoa, something’s happening here, and I’d better pay attention.”

Maybe the coincidences don’t lead to life-altering events, but they almost always provide opportunities for me to learn new things, to explore new ideas, and to discover new opportunities and enjoyment.

All of this is a long, drawn-out way of saying that lately something coincidental has been going on around me.

Fathers and sons.

It began a few days ago when I first saw this picture:

Father and Son

Since then, everywhere I turn, I find myself surrounded by fathers and sons.  Last night, I turned on Kansas Public Radio for their classical selections. What was playing?

First came David Oistrakh with his son, Igor.

Their performance was followed by Sir Nevile Marriner conducting his son, Andrew Marriner, in a clarinet concerto.

And so it’s gone…over and over again for the past week. Mentions of fathers, mentions of their sons.

It’s led me to re-discover one of my favorite short stories,  “Fathers and Sons”  by Ernest Hemingway.

And was it mere coincidence that my father-in-law got up Saturday morning and for some unknown reason decided that he should drive seventy miles to come visit?

Yeah, it’s all just coincidence, nothing more. No matter how many more times I turn on the television or radio or pick up a newspaper or magazine and find information about yet another father and son, I’ll just keep telling myself it’s mere happenstance.

But I know there’s a reason behind it. I haven’t figured out yet what it is, but it’s there.  Now comes the fun part of exploring the different possibilities until I finally “get” the message.

More things to explore!

Leave a Reply

