Disturbing Dreams

For the last two weeks, I’ve said I was going to start exploring dreams. As simple as this probably sounds to most people, it’s actually a real challenge for me. I usually don’t remember my dreams.

I know I dream. Sometime I awaken with a vague memory, but it quickly fades. I’ve studied REM cycles, have tried the trick of waking during those sleep periods when I, theoretically, at least, should be best able to recall my dreams, and I’ve even tried Vitamin B6 supplements, (pyridoxine hydrochloride) which is said to improve dream recall.  Nope. I don’t remember my dreams.

Chemical structure of pyridoxine.

Chemical structure of pyridoxine. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Now and then I will have an exceptionally vivid and powerful dream, one that is impossible to forget. Those I can remember for years, but that’s probably because they are so rare.

I do dream in color. Very, very bright, bold, beautiful colors. When I do have a dream I remember, it’s usually the colors that come to mind first.

Or sometimes it’s the mood of the dream that makes it so memorable. The dreams I tend to remember most are one which leave me with a sense of bewilderment and confusion. Uncertainty seems to be a major component of my dreams — judging by those I recall.

Certain themes do repeat themselves in my dreams. Usually dreams I remember involve traveling to a new town, crossing over a frightening bridge, being late for an appointment, or losing my car. I’m sure a psychologist could have a field day with those little tidbits.

I’ve also experienced a few “real” dreams,  typically at times when I’ve been under extreme emotional duress.  These dreams have been so real, I’ve truly been unable to distinguish waking from sleeping. I’ve also had a few comical lucid dreams where, realizing it is only a dream, I’ve simply laughed at some awful nocturnal plight and given myself permission to go on sleeping.

Over the last few days, I have remembered several of my dreams, simply by using the power of suggestion. It’s never worked for me before, but for some reason, this time just telling myself “I will remember my dreams” has done the trick.

Now, I’m almost wishing I hadn’t given myself that suggestion. The dreams I’ve had recently have been disturbing. Confused and nonsensical, yes, but that’s the nature of dreams. It’s to be expected. But also upsetting at many levels.

I won’t go into the details of my crazy, mixed-up dreams, but one symbol which has been extremely strong is that of birds.

I had a disturbing dream about our parrot.

 

 

I did a bit of dream-interpretation research, and this is what I found:

To see birds in your dream symbolizes your goals, aspirations and hopes. To dream of chirping and/or flying birds, represents joy, harmony, ecstasy, balance, and love. It denotes a sunny outlook in life. You are experiencing spiritual freedom and psychological liberation. It is almost as if a weight has been lifted off your shoulders.

To dream of dead or dying birds indicates disappointments. You will find yourself worrying over problems that are nagging on your mind.

To dream of birds on the attack means that you are being pulled into too many directions. You are experiencing conflict with your spirituality. If the birds are trying to break into houses, then it implies that you are not following your desired path in life. Others are meddling in your life and interfering with your life path.

To see bird eggs in your dream symbolizes money.

To see birds hatching in your dream symbolize delayed success.

To see a bird nest in your dream symbolizes independence, refuge and security. You need something to fall back on. Alternatively, it may signify a prosperous endeavor, new opportunities, and fortune. 

And no bird eggs in my dreams!  Darn the luck.  And what if the bird was talking, not singing?

I researched the symbolism a little more, and found this information, specifically about parrots:

To see a parrot in your dream represents some message or gossip that is being conveyed to you. You need to think twice about repeating or sharing certain information. Alternatively, the parrot can denote a person in your waking life who is eccentric or obnoxious.  It may also mean that you or someone is being repetitive or even mocking you.

It’s all very interesting…very interesting, indeed. I have a feeling, though, that it might be nothing more than the fact that our noisy bird was squawking like crazy while I was trying to sleep. Dreaming about wringing her neck probably needs little interpretation.

2 thoughts on “Disturbing Dreams

  1. Do you write down your dreams? Even the fragments and vague memories and feelings? I am not sure how it works, probably something like the mantra for intention that you used, “I will remember my dreams.” Placing pen and paper by the bed manifests that intention, making it more powerful.

    One thing is pretty typical, that writing down your dreams helps you recall the next one a little better and the next and so on. Apparently, it requires practice to hone your skill.

    Also, it takes some serious self-research to work out your personal REM patterns for the night alarms to actually catch you in REM. There are general patterns from which you can plan a schedule, but it is quite possible that your biorhythms are different.

    As for fears, remember what the best dream interpreters say about that. It’s a lot safer to face down the tiger in a dream than in the jungle!

    Good luck with your dream interpretation and exploration!

    • Thanks for the encouragement. In the past, yes, I’ve kept dream notebooks at my bedside and have hastily scribbled down everything I can remember. Even then, the memories are so vague it’s hard to do much with them. I’m fascinated by dreams, though. I have friends whose dreams are like full-length feature films. I’ve always wished mine could be that way.

Leave a Reply

