Lunar Seas

Moon

How many lunar seas can you identify?

Last week I was inundated with information about the sea. This week, I’m spaced out with astronomy. Now, is it mere coincidence that the first link I follow leads me directly to the lunar seas?

But, the lunar seas aren’t really seas at all. They are actually plains of solidified lava which appear dark. Don’t take my word for this. I know nothing. I’m merely repeating what I’ve learned from the BBC’s “Moore Moon Marathon” site. They lost me at lava. Does this mean there are/were volcanoes on the moon?

Back to the inaptly-named lunar seas.

Flag of the United States on American astronau...

Most of us, I think, have probably heard of the Sea of Tranquility, made famous by Neil Armstrong‘s “giant leap for mankind”. How many of us have heard of the Bay of Rainbows? Or the Ocean of Storms? Maybe you know all the lunar seas. I don’t. Until this morning, I probably couldn’t have named more than two or three.

Now, I know them all, and I know about where they’re located on the surface of the moon. My next assignment is to take a good look at Luna and see if I can actually identify each lunar sea. All should be visible with the naked eye.

The next full moon will be coming up on August 20, so that gives me a little time to study.

Here’s a list:

  • Sea of Showers
  • Sea of Cold
  • Sea of Serenity
  • Sea of Vapor
  • Sea of Crises
  • Ocean of Storms
  • Sea of Moisture
  • Sea of Clouds
  • Sea of Tranquility
  • Sea of Nectar
  • Sea of Fertility
  • Bay of Rainbows

Of course, these seas have Latin names, but I’ll have problems enough remembering them as it is. No need to complicate things.

If you’re interested in this astronomy project, you’ll find information on it here:

Moore Moon Marathon

Of course, maybe the moon landing was faked…right?

Leave a Reply

