The Devil Made Me Do It

Illustration of the Devil in the Codex Gigas, ...

Illustration of the Devil in the Codex Gigas

I’m exploring the crazy path of the Devil this week.

In the past, I’ve met a lot of different devils…male, female, animal. Each has something to offer. The old devil has appeared to me in the guise of a donkey, a playful chimp…aha! There he is again. Yep, the devil I’m dealing with now is another little chimp, and no doubt he’ll be bringing a bit of “monkey business” into my life this week.

Chimps are cute. Very human-like. That’s why we like them, I suppose. We’re always trying to superimpose our own qualities onto our environment, be it animal, mineral, or whatever. Yeah, really. We do that.

Have we really evolved from apes? I don’t know. Does it make any difference? Not really. I’m not so much concerned with where I’ve come from as I am with where I’m going, and just because I’m hanging around with a friendly little devil this week, it doesn’t mean I’m necessarily going to hell. It just means I’m going to learn a few things about the “underside” of life, if that’s what you want to call it.

Life isn’t always pleasant. It’s not all sunshine, roses, and blue skies. Life has its beauty, but it’s got its ugly side, too. This week is all about seeing reality and calling it as it is.

The devil is blunt, if nothing else.

5 thoughts on “The Devil Made Me Do It

  1. Thank you for including my article about the damn devil stealing my Snapple. If you see him, tell him he owes me a case of that stuff. It is, after all, the best stuff on Earth! 🙂

    • I enjoyed reading about your experiences with the devil…here I thought I was the only crazy one around. I’m following your blog now, and I’m looking forward to reading more of your modern philosophy. Thanks for dropping by Christina’s Corner.

Leave a Reply

