If You Can Laugh at It, You Can Live With It

Devil-goat

Devil-goat…rather amusing, really.

 

“If you can laugh at it, you can live with it.”

For a long time, those words have been my motto. Laughter can be the best medicine at times, making bad things better, and the unbearable, tolerable, at least. For me, laughter is always a key element in the realm of the devil.

Only humans laugh; animals don’t. That fact has always impressed me.

While browsing around Wikipedia, I grabbed these words about ol’ Beezlebub:

 

 

 

 

The Devil is believed in many religions, myths and cultures to be a supernatural entity that is the personification of evil and the enemy of God and humankind. The nature of the role varies greatly, ranging from being an effective opposite force to the creator god, locked in an eons long struggle for human souls on what may seem even terms, to being a comical figure of fun or an abstract aspect of the individual human condition.

 

Do I truly believe in the devil? I’m not sure. If the devil exists, I think he exists as part of a larger, grander plan. I do believe that there must be “opposition in all things”,  that the beginnings of each new life contain the seeds of its own end, but maybe a lot of this is the romance author in me coming out. Life is about conflict. Blaming it on the devil seems too easy…unless we’re willing to acknowledge that the devil is actually very human. 

Think about it.  

 

3 thoughts on “If You Can Laugh at It, You Can Live With It

    • Now I’m find articles about laughing chimpanzees…so maybe my belief that only humans laugh is about to be challenged! Yikes. Not sure I’m ready to deal with that. Christina Cole

      “Discover the Power of Love”

      Now Available from Sweet Cravings Publishing:Happily Ever After

      ________________________________

Leave a Reply

